Yash Dhull, Umran Malik In ‘Rest Of India’ Squad For Irani Cup, Hanuma Vihari To Lead

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced the ‘Rest of India’ squad that will take on Ranji Trophy champions Saurashtra from October 1-5, 2019-20 in the Irani Cup. The Irani Cup returns after three years, with the prestigious competition having been dropped from the national schedule since 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Indian batter Hanuma Vihahi will lead the rest of India, while another Indian international, Mayank Agarwal, has also been named to the squad. Yash Dhull, who led India to the 2022 U-19 World Cup trophy, has also been selected along with young pace sensation Umran Malik.

Aside from Vihari, Mayank and Dhull, the other batters to be picked are Priyank Panchal and Abhimanyu Easwaran, as well as Sarfaraz Khan, who has racked up points in the Ranji Trophy for fun.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, who recently won a double century for West Zone in the Duleep Trophy final, is also included in the roster.

KS Bharat will hold wickets, with fellow gloveman Upendra Yadav also in the squad.

Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar and R Sai Kishore make up the spin division for Rest of India, the whole tempo attack includes Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Sen and Arzan Nagwaswalla.

The Irani Cup match will be played at Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot.


This year’s domestic calendar features two editions of the Irani Cup, with Rest of India taking on the second time against Ranji Trophy champion Madhya Pradesh.

ROI crew: Hanuma Vihari (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Yash Dhull, Sarfaraaz Khan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, KSBharat, Upendra Yadav, Jayant Yadav, Saurabh Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Mukesh Kumar, Umran Malik, Arwall, Nagwas

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment