“Would Play Both Rishabh Pant And Dinesh Karthik”: Sunil Gavaskar On T20 World Cup Playing XI

The Indian T20 World Cup squad was announced on Monday and both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik found a place in the 15-man squad. Following the announcement, Dinesh Karthik said on Twitter that “dreams come true”. Now, former India captain Sunil Gavaskar has said he would play both Pant and Karthik in his squad for the upcoming World Cup, giving the rationale, saying that if you want to win a big event, you have to take risks.

“I would play both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik. At number 5, Rishabh Pant, number 6 Hardik Pandya or vice versa and I would play Dinesh Karthik at number 7. I would give with Hardik and four other options as bowlers. If you don’t take a risk “How do you win? You have to take risk in all departments, then you can only get rewards,” Gavaskar told Sports Tak.

Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel are also mentioned in the team and the bowling department has thus been strengthened. Gavaskar thinks the addition of these two will bolster the lineup and India will be in good hands.

“It’s a good team. It’s a balanced squad, we have high hopes for them to win the World Cup. I think India can win the World Cup because of the balance. What happened in Asia Cup was a wake-up.” “I am hopeful that this team will come back with the World Cup. We have to support the team that has been selected. Now that the time has been announced, we must give our full support,” Gavaskar said.


“Our problem in the Asian Cup was that we didn’t have those bowlers who can defend a total. Now that Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel have come back, these two are such bowlers who can defend goals and if you bowl first, they can strike up front. The team has grown stronger as these two come together,” he added.
India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Moh. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment