Women’s T20 Asia Cup: India To Meet Pakistan On October 7

File image of the Indian women’s team© AFP

India will face arch-rival Pakistan on October 7 in the Women’s T20 Asia Cup, which kicks off next month in Bangladesh’s Sylhet, Asian Cricket Council chairman Jay Shah announced on Tuesday. Seven teams will participate in the 15-day tournament, which starts on October 1. The tournament will be held in a round robin format with the top four teams qualifying for the semifinals.

The teams participating in the tournament are India, Pakistan, hosting Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, UAE, Thailand and Malaysia. Afghanistan has not had a women’s team since the Taliban took over.

India kicks off the campaign on opening day against Sri Lanka.

They then play against Malaysia (October 3) and the UAE (October 4) on consecutive days before taking on Pakistan.

India will host Bangladesh on October 8 and the round robin match against minnows Thailand is on October 10.


The Harmanpreet Kaur-led team will play six league games in ten days before the presumed semi-finals on October 11 or 13.

The final is scheduled for October 15.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment