West Zone Win Duleep Trophy, Crush South Zone By 294 Runs

West Zone Win Duleep Trophy, crush South Zone by 294 runs

West Zone wins 2022 Duleep Trophy© Twitter

West Zone won the 2022 Duleep Trophy title after crushing South Zone by a huge margin of 294 runs on the fifth and final day of Sunday’s summit showdown. With an unlikely win target of 529, South Zone was all out for 234 in the first session of the fifth morning, after the day resumed with a precarious 154 for six. Prominent in firing the West Zone to the big win were Yashasvi Jaiswal (265 in the second innings), Sarfaraz Khan (127 in the second innings) and the bowlers led by seasoned left-arm sailor Jaydev Unadkat.

West Zone set a massive 585 for four in their second innings after conceding a 57-run lead to their opponents in the first innings.

Prolific run-scorer Sarfaraz Khan posted a fine, undefeated century (127 from 178 balls) to continue West’s attack after double centurion Yashasvi Jaiswal was sacked overnight for 265 at the SNR College Cricket Ground .


The West bowlers did the job in the fourth innings with Shams Mulani, the top wicket taker of the last Ranji Trophy, taking four wickets.

For nearly five sessions, West flattened their opponents, and the South Zone team didn’t quite recover from that. That was evident in their at bat in the second inning, as with the exception of Rohan Kunnummal (93 from 100 balls), all batters failed to meet the challenge. PTI AH AH AT AT

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment