“Want Him To Bowl…”: Ex-India All-Rounder On Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s Role In T20 World Cup

India announced the highly anticipated squad, which will fly to Australia for the upcoming T20 World Cup, which includes pacers Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, who missed the Asian Cup due to injuries. Apart from them, Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have also been included in the squad with Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar, Ravi Bishnoi and Shreyas Iyer on standby. In the recently concluded Asian Cup, Bhuvneshwar was criticized for leaking runs during the death overs. After the announcement of the T20 World Cup squad, former Indian all-rounder Irfan Pathan stated that he would like to see Bhuvneshwar bowl his overs with the new ball.

“Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh and Harshal Patel, these three will solve your problem of bowling 5 overs to death. It is very understandable that once you come back from injury you need some time but you get the playing time as you are playing against Australia and South Africa for the World Cup,” Irfan said in a video on Star Sports Twitter.

“You get that quality time, India’s problem of bowling at death is relatively solved with the addition of these three. You can bowl Chahal for one at death, you can also use Bhuvneshwar Kumar, but I wish he bowled more with the new ball,” he added.

In the Asia Cup Super 4 match against Pakistan, Bhuvneshwar conceded 40 runs in his four over period, 19 of which were leaked in the 19th over. It was followed by 30 runs against Sri Lanka, with 14 runs conceded in the 19th over.

In the Asian Cup, Bhuvneshwar returned with 11 wickets, including a five-wicket haul against Afghanistan. However, his performance against Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the Super 4 stage left much to be desired after leaking runs in the 19th left of both matches.


India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players -Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment