Unnati Hooda, Anupama Upadhyaya to spearhead Indian challenge in Jr Badminton World Championships | Badminton News

NEW DELHI: Newly crowned junior world No. 1. 1 Anupama Upadhyaya and Odisha Open Super 100 champion Unnati Hooda will lead India’s challenge to BWF World Junior Badminton Championships which will be held in Santander, Spain, from October 17 to 30.
India’s squad for the prestigious tournament, to be held after a two-year hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, was chosen after an extensive selection process that included two All India Ranking tournaments and a tryout at Raipur.
Unnati had dominated the Girls’ Singles Trials with S Rakshita Sree and Anupama finishing second and third respectively.
In-form Bharat Raghav, who won All Indian ranking titles in Goa and Panchkula and former world junior No. 1 Sankar Muthusamy, will be India’s best bet in the men’s singles category with Ayush Shetty rounding out the training.
India have so far won one gold, three silver and five bronze in the competition, with reigning Commonwealth Games gold medalist Lakshya Sen being the latest Indian to step onto the podium in winning a bronze medal in 2018.
“The World Junior Championships are taking place after a long gap and with the emergence of new players, the team has been selected after many selection trials,” Badminton Association of India (BAI) Secretary Sanjay said. Mishra.
“We are confident that we will fight for medals in the mixed team championships and also in the individual events,” he added.
The event will begin with the mixed team event.
India will also field two pairs each in the men’s and women’s doubles and mixed doubles events.
The new combination of Arsh Mohammad and Abhinav Thakur with Nicholas Nathan Raj and Tushar Suveer will take responsibility for the men’s doubles.
In women’s doubles, the All India ranking winners in Goa – Ishrani Baruah and Devika Sihag – will be joined by Tamil Nadu’s Shreya Balaji and Srinidhi N of Tamil Nadu, who recently helped their state win the South Zone U19 Mixed Tag Team title.
India team:
Single boys: Bharat Raghav, Sankar Muthusamy S, Ayush Shetty.
Single girls: Unnati Hooda, Rakshitha Sree S, Anupama Upadhyaya.
Boys Doubles: Arsh Mohammad/Abhinav Thakur, Nicholas Nathan Raj/Tushar Suveer.
Double girls: Isharani Baruah/Devika Sihag, Shreya Balaji/Srinidhi N.
Mixed doubles: Samarveer/Radhika Sharma, Vighnesh Thathineni/Sri Sai Sravya Lakkamraju.

Leave a Comment