Shadab Khan shares funny moment with on-field referee during Asia Cup final© Twitter
Sri Lanka took their sixth Asian Cup title after beating Pakistan by 23 runs in the final on Sunday at the Dubai International Stadium. After Sri Lanka batted, Sri Lanka lost three wickets in the power play and lost half of their batters for a total of 58. However, Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit an unbeaten 71 from 54 balls to send Sri Lanka to a strong 170 total for six in 20 overs. However, he was lucky enough to have stayed on the field for so long, having survived an LBW appeal in the last over of the power play.
Haris Rauf, who had already taken two wickets, skipped Rajapaksa on his pads in the penultimate delivery of his second.
While the umpire didn’t raise his hand, Pakistani players went for the DRS. However, the decision stood due to the umpire’s call on impact.
After the review, Pakistani all-rounder Shadab Khan was seen joking with the umpire on the field.
In a lighthearted incident, Shadab jokingly tried to raise the referee’s finger as the two laughed
The incident quickly went viral on social media.
Meanwhile, Shadab is doing his thing..#AsiaCup2022Final #PakvsSri pic.twitter.com/WyaFx0BgPx
— BaKhabar Awam (@bakhabarawam92) September 11, 2022
Sri Lanka was 67 for five halfway through their innings, racking up 103 runs in the last 10 overs to reach 170 for six.
In the hunt for 171 for the win, Pakistan was thrown out for 147, with Pramod Madushan claiming four wickets and Wanindu Hasaranga taking three for 27.
Mohammad Rizwan scored the highest score for Pakistan with 55 from 49 balls.
Topics mentioned in this article