SA T20 Auctions: IPL owners loosen purse strings as young Tristan Stubbs gets 9 million rand from Sunrisers EC | Cricket News

CAPE TOWN: South African batting sensation Tristan Stubbs sparked a bidding frenzy with Sunrise Eastern Cape secure his services for the staggering sum of 9.2 million rand (over $500,000) at the inaugural auction of the SA T20 League here Monday.
All six teams in the league belong to IPL franchises – MI Cape Town (Reliance), Pretoria Capitals (JSW), Parl Royals (Royals Sports Group), Durban Super Giants (RPG-Sanjiv Goenka), Johannesburg Super Kings (India Cements), Sunrisers Eastern Cape (Kaviya Maran, owner of Sunrisers Hyderabad).
With a salary cap of R34m (approx USD 1.9m, INR 15 crore) per team, strong bidding was seen with Stubbs, who plays for Mumbai Indians in the IPL, being the most wanted.
Four franchises have been embroiled in a bidding war with MI Cape Town making the first move followed by Paarl Royals. However, towards the end, it was Johannesburg Super Kings and Eastern Cape Sunrisers who fought tooth and nail before the latter made a winning bid of R9.2 million.
“I’m still shaking,” was Stubbs’ first reaction.
The other big purchase for Sunrisers was their own IPL player – left arm pacer Marco Jansen for R6.1 million (US$344,000)
Another notable winner was left-handed batsman Rilee Rossouw, who laughed all the way to the bank with a 6.9 million rand (about $390,000) offer from the Pretoria Capitals.
Among known players, Lungi Ngidi got 3.4 million rand ($191,000) while Tabraiz Shamsi got an offer of 4.3 million rand ($242,000) from the same franchise.
Hard-hitting Heinrich Klaasen was chosen by Durban Super Giants for 4.5 million rand (252,000 USD) while Keshav Maharaj received 2.5 million rand (141,000 USD) from Sanjiv Goenka‘steam.
The Johannesburg Super Kings have snapped up England striker Dawid Malan for 2.7 million rand ($152,000) and hard-hitting youngster Harry Brook for 2.1 million rand ($118,000).
Among the unsold big names are England captain Eoin Morgan, a World Cup winner, and South Africa’s ODI captain. Temba Bavuma and Sri Lanka’s Asian Cup-winning opening pair Kusal Mendis and Pathum Nissanka.

Leave a Comment