Pravat Kumar Roul Appointed New VC of OUAT

Bhubaneshwar:Pravat Kumar Roulic was appointed as Vice Chancellor of Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT) Bhubaneshwar. Ganeshi Lal, governor of Odisha and chancellor of state public universities, appointed him on Friday.
Roul will remain in office for a period of three years from the date he takes up his position as such or until further orders, whichever comes first. This professor is currently working as general director of the Agricultural promotion and investment company of Odisha (APICOL).
He has more than 29 years of teaching experience. He has published 24 books and successfully supervised nine PhD students. He is not only the alumnus of the university, but also worked in this institution as a lecturer, researcher and administrator before working at APICOL.
He was Dean Extension, Dean Veterinary and Director of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation in OUAT. This experience will help him devise a plan for the institution.
“Now we want to see OUAT as a globally recognized and locally relevant farm university of Odisha. We will focus on education, research and extension,” said Roul, adding: “We will try to meet the demands of the university and confide in all stakeholders, including students, farmers and staff.”
In May this year, the tenure of Pawan Kumar Agrawal as OUAT VC ended up. Subsequent bureaucrat Sanjeev Chopra, additional chief secretary, joined as the VC of this university on May 13 to take care of the institution until the appointment of a full-time VC.
The Agriculture and Farming Department had placed an advertisement for the position of OUAT VC on December 3 last year. The recruitment process was delayed after some candidates filed a petition with the Supreme Court two months ago, complaining about the selection process.
The selection committee had rejected the applications of some candidates for the VC post. They went to court against the trial. After the court order, the process started all over again. Gouverneur, who was given three names by the selection committee, chose one after an interview with the three.

Leave a Comment