No change in Indian Women T20 squad, BCCI announces 15-member side for ACC T20 Championship | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: No major changes have been made as BCCI on Wednesday announced a 15-member Indian women’s team for the ACC T20 Championshipwhich will be held in Bangladesh from October 1 to 15.
India kept the same squad that played against England in the T20 three-piece series with Taniyaa Bhatia and Simran Bahadur be put on standby.
India, six-time champions, who will be led by Harmanpreet Kaurwill kick off their campaign with a clash against Sri Lanka on the opening day, while they face arch-rivals Pakistan on October 7.
The duo were part of the 17-member squad that competed in England but weren’t given playing time.
“The All India Women’s Selection Committee has chosen the Indian team for the upcoming 2022 ACC Women’s T20 Championship which will be played in Sylhet, Bangladesh from 1st to 15th October,” said the secretary of the BCCI, Jay Shah, in a statement.
A total of seven teams, including hosts Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Malaysia and the United Arab Emirates, will compete in a round-robin format, with the top four qualifying for the semi-final.
The semi-finals will be played on October 13 with the summit clash scheduled for October 15.
India had lost 1-2 to England in the T20 three-piece series.
Indian team: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Sabbineni Meghana, Richa Ghosh (wicket keeper), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemalatha, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, KP Navgire.
Stand-by players: Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia, Simran Dil Bahadur.

Leave a Comment