Mohammed Shami, Sanju Samson Trend On Twitter After Not Making India’s ICC T20 World Cup 15-Member Squad

India announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup roster in Australia and stayed with the same players despite a poor Asia Cup show. Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel are back from injury to up the pace, while Axar Patel replaced the injured Ravindra Jadeja. Players like Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul, who have received flak for their poor performance in the Asian Cup, have both made it to the roster.

Almost immediately after the team announced, the names of veteran pacer Mohammed Shami and wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson started doing the rounds on Twitter and eventually became trending.

Both players are fan favorites and had stellar performances in the IPL 2022. Shami was the lead wicket taker for winners Gujarat Titans, while Samson had impressed everyone by leading Rajasthan Royals to their first final since winning the trophy in 2008.

Although Shami made it to the standby player list, Samson has not been named at all.

India squad for ICC T20 World Cup:Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah , Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.


Standby players –mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Here are some reactions from fans:

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment