Kuldeep Yadav Hat-Trick, Prithvi Shaw 77 Help India A Beat New Zealand A To Seal Series

Left arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav’s sensational hat-trick and Prithvi Shaw’s quick-fire half-century (77) secured a four-wicket victory for India ‘A’ against New Zealand ‘A’ in the second unofficial ODI to take the three-match series on Sunday. The New Zealand ‘A’ opted to strike and was all out for 219 in 47 overs, while Kuldeep took the last four wickets, including the hat-trick. From 210 to 6, the visiting team slumped to 219 when Kuldeep revolted. After sacking Sean Solia for his first scalp of the match, Yadav took the wickets of Logan Van Beek, Joe Walker and Jacob Duffy to complete a memorable hat-trick.

India ‘A’ chased the target with 16 overs to spare to take a series win, reaching 222 for 6 in 34 overs.

The home team won the first game on Thursday by seven wickets. The third and final game will be played on Tuesday.

“A hat-trick at any level is special. This is a very special one,” Kuldeep later told reporters. Rachin Ravindra (61 from 65 balls) and Joe Carter (72 from 80 balls) set the stage for the Kiwis before Kuldeep sprang into action.

The openers – Chad Bowes (15) and Ravindra – got the ball rolling and put down 32 runs. Ravindra was the dominant partner in a 31-run tie with No.3 Dane Cleaver (6).

Ravindra played some pleasing shots and looked set for a big score before falling on a catch by Ruturaj Gaikwad in the points area at Rishi Dhawan’s bowling alley after the score crossed the 100 mark.

NZ ‘A’ Captain Robert O’Donnell fell for a duck to Dhawan and dragged a delivery to his stumps as he tried to pull.

The Indian player who won the Under-19 World Cup and Raj Angad Bawa with an average speed then sent Tom Bruce (10) back to leave the Kiwis at 133 for 5.

Carter, who was the top scorer with an enterprising 72, hit the first six for the visitors and kept moving the score. A misguided slog from leg spinner Rahul Chahar (2 for 50) led to his dismissal.

Solia became Kuldeep’s first victim after a vigilant 28 from 49 balls.

In his last over, Kuldeep got van Beek (4), whose reverse sweep attempt got a lead and flew to Shaw in the point area. The next ball he let Walker (0) catch behind him by Samson with an excellent delivery and finished it off by trapping Duffy (0) LBW.

Chasing a modest 220 to win and seal the series, Shaw stepped out for a kite and knocked the ball around when the Indian score reached 50 in the seventh over.

Little Shaw was unstoppable as he swept 50 from 26 balls. He hit 11 fours and 3 sixes in his 48-ball superlative.

Gaikwad, who was sedate by comparison, fell for 30 from 34 balls.

In-form Rajat Patidar then fell for 20 at team score of 131 for 2 while Shaw fell to Walker two points later.

Skipper Samson went after the bowling, hitting 37 of 35 balls, dotting four limits and two sixes before a great dive catch by Chad Bowes shortened his stay.


Tilak Varma and Bawa fell for ducks and India ‘A’ appeared to be in trouble, but Rishi Dhawan (22 not out on 43 balls) and Shardul Thakur (25 not out on 24 balls) saw the team come home.

Short Scores: NZ ‘A’ 219 all out in 47 overs (Joe Carter 72, Rachin Ravindra 61, Kuldeep Yadav 4/51) lost to India ‘A’ 222 for 6 in 34 overs (Prithvi Shaw 77, Sanju Samson 37, Shardul Thakur 25 not out, Logan van Beek 3/46)) with four wickets.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment