India picked up a victory against England on Saturday after the all-rounder Deepti dismissed England’s last batsman Dean (47) for falling too far back on the non-attacking side.
Dean was off his pitch and Deepti simply held the ball up to pull the bails, leaving the England team flabbergasted and also sparking an intense ‘spirit of the game’ debate.
After returning home, Deepti revealed on Monday that Charlie Dean was warned not to back down several times before affecting the run.
However, Knight dismissed Deepti’s claims in a series of tweets.
“The match is over. Charlie was rightfully dismissed, India was the deserved winner of the match and the series. But no warning was given,” Knight wrote on Twitter.
1/2 Game over, Charlie has been legitimately fired. India were the deserved winner of the game and the series.… https://t.co/y7QTd0dKeN
— Heather Knight (@Heatherknight55) 1664187024000
“They don’t need to be given, so it didn’t make the dismissal any less legitimate. But if they are comfortable with the decision to affect the race, India shouldn’t feel the pain. need to justify it by lying. warnings.”
2/2 But if they are comfortable with the decision to affect the race, India shouldn’t feel the need to justify it… https://t.co/JQNef7bb9V
— Heather Knight (@Heatherknight55) 1664187051000
Chasing 170, England were down to 118 for nine before No.9 hitter Dean revived their hopes with his latest wicket partnership with Freya Davies.
However, with 17 needed to win, Dean was run out for 47 with Deepti cutting the bonds during his delivery stride to end their 35-point partnership which gave India a 3-0 sweep.
“Woh plan tha hum logon ka, kyunki woh baar baar… Hum warn bhi kar chuke the usko. Jo rules mein hain, jo guidelines hain, uske according to hi humne kiya (We planned this because she was not paying attention to our repeated warnings. We acted according to the rules and guidelines,” Deepti told reporters upon arriving here.
While Dean was in tears, the guardians of the laws of cricket CMC put his stamp of approval on the dismissal, saying “it was properly arbitrated and should not be considered as anything else”.
Recently, the ICC, by modifying the playing conditions, changed this type of referral from “foul play” to “exhaustion”. The changes would come into effect on October 1.