IIT Bhubaneswar gets new director

BHUBANESWAR: Shrepad Karmalkara professor of IIT Madras, has been appointed as the director of IIT Bhubaneswar. The Union Ministry of Education issued a letter about this appointment on Monday.
“The appointment will be on a contract for a period of five years from the date on which the position is held or until the age of 70, whichever is the earlier, in accordance with the conditions laid down in the Institutes of Technology Act1961 and statutes drawn up under it,” said the order of the Ministry of Education.
This alumnus of IIT Madras, who later became a teacher at his alma mater, has been awarded three patents in semiconductor modeling and process development. He has received the 2006 Vikram Sarabhai Award for research and a 2007 IBM Faculty Award for research and education, official sources said.
Sources said Karmalkar, who has acted as a consultant to industries for developing semiconductor device manufacturing processes, will greatly help IIT Bhubaneswar’s semiconductor research. This national institute has already received administrative approval from the ministry of electronics and information technology for the implementation of the Chips to Startup (C2S) program.
He was a member of the National Working Group on Nanotechnology set up by the Union Ministry of Electronics and IT and the whole Indian board of undergraduate studies of the AICTE.
Virendra Kumar Tewari, director of IIT Kharagpur, was given additional compensation as director of IIT Bhubaneswar from April 2 this year. Tewari took additional leadership after former director of RV Raja Kumara ended up.
Founded in 2008, IIT Bhubaneswar has been given two permanent directors and two acting directors before Tewari joined. Madhusudan Chakraborty was the regular director from May 19, 2009 to August 18, 2014, while Raja Kumar remained in the senior position from April 22, 2015 to April 2, 2022. Two acting directors were Damodar Acharya and Sujit Roy.

Leave a Comment