ICC Meet: BCCI to host 2025 Women’s ODI World Cup, FTP for next five years finalised | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: India will host the 50+ Women’s World Cup in 2025 as BCCI successfully bid for the mega event at the ICC annual conference which ended in Birmingham on Tuesday.
The ICC’s flagship event will return to the country after more than a decade.
The last time a 50+ Women’s World Cup was held in India was in 2013, when Australia became champions after beating West Indies by 114 points in the final in Mumbai.
Three other ICC women’s events were also awarded on the day, with Bangladesh hosting the 2024 T20 World Cup and England winning the hosting rights for the 2026 edition.
The first T20 Champions Trophy in 2027 will be hosted by Sri Lanka.
The last major women’s world cricket event held in India was World T20 2016, but that was mainly because ICC held both men’s and women’s events simultaneously.
However, the system changed with the growing popularity of the women’s game and ICC separated the events to provide appropriate value to the women’s game with a separate broadcast agreement and exclusive coverage.
“We were keen to host the 2025 ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup and we are pleased to have secured the hosting rights for this marquee clash on the women’s calendar,” BCCI President Sourav Ganguly said as quoted. in an ICC press release.
“The sport has undergone huge transformations since then. The popularity of women’s cricket is growing rapidly, and this is a step in the right direction. The BCCI will work closely with the ICC and meet all the conditions.”
BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said: “We are taking several steps to raise the profile of the sport right from the local level and hosting the World Cup will further boost the sport’s popularity in the country.
“BCCI remains committed to women’s cricket in India. We have the infrastructure in place and I am confident we will have a very successful edition of the World Cup.”
The 50+ Women’s World Cup, however, has been a stand-alone event since its inception in 1973, two years before the men’s mega event began in England in 1975.
India has hosted the event three times, in 1978, 1997 and 2013.
Those in the know about things at the ICC felt it was safe to call BCCI if applying for the 2025 ODI event.
“Since BCCI is optimistic about launching the Women’s IPL from next season, I think they would not like to hold another marquee Women’s T20 event right away. Therefore, the decision to bid for the 2025 World Cup seems logical,” the source said.
At the 2025 Women’s World Cup, the hosts and the top five nations of the ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) 2022-2025 will be directly admitted to the tournament.
The two remaining teams will be identified through a global qualifier comprising six teams. Of the six teams entering the qualifiers, four will come from the IWC (ranking after the top five teams) and the other two will be selected based on the ICC ODI Women’s Team Ranking.
Other key decisions
ICC Board finalizes FTP
The ICC Board of Directors has approved the Men’s and Women’s Future Tours Program (FTP) for 2023-2027 and these will be released in the coming days.
It is learned that India will play 38 Tests during the said period.
Laxman at the ICC Cricket Committee
India’s current National Cricket Academy VVS great Laxman has been appointed to the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee as the current players’ representative alongside former New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori.
Roger Harper has been selected as the second former player representative on the committee joining Mahela Jayawardene.
The new president of the CIC will be elected in November
The Board approved the election process for the next CIC President which will take place in November 2022. The election will be decided by simple majority unlike in previous years where a two-thirds majority was required.
The term of the president-elect will run for a two-year period, from December 1, 2022 to November 30, 2024.
BCCI chairman Sourav Ganguly and secretary Jay Shah are expected to play an important role in choosing a replacement for New Zealander Gregor Barclay.
Cambodia, Ivory Coast and Uzbekistan are the new associate members of the ICC
The growth of world cricket is celebrated as the ICC welcomes its newest members, with Cambodia, Ivory Coast and Uzbekistan all receiving associate member status.
Cambodia and Uzbekistan are the 24th and 25th members from the Asia region, while Ivory Coast is the 21st member from Africa, with the ICC now comprising 108 members in total, including 96 associates.

Leave a Comment