“Getting Little Bit Dangerous”: Australia Legend Adam Gilchrist Warns About Dominance Of IPL Franchises

Wicket-keeper legend Adam Gilchrist has questioned the growing dominance of Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises in the world of cricket, saying the current trend of “monopolization” by them is dangerous. Gilchrist’s comments came in the background of reports that Australian batter David Warner could forego the upcoming Big Bash League (BBL) this season and enroll in a more lucrative T20 league in the United Arab Emirates. Interestingly, three IPL franchises – Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Capitals – have all invested in teams in the UAE T20 competition.

“They can’t force David Warner to play in BBL, I understand, but then to let him leave – or any other player, let’s not rule out Warner because there will be other players on the radar – it’s all part of this global dominance that these IPL franchises are starting to create as they own a number of teams in the Caribbean Premier League,” Gilchrist told SEN’s Whateley radio show.

“It gets a bit dangerous the grip that it has to monopolize that property and the property of the players and their talents and where they can and cannot play,” he added.

The three-time World Cup winner Australian suggested his country’s cricket council take note of the matter, as more cricketers could head into Warner’s path sooner rather than later.

“If he (Warner) drives into the sunset and says ‘Sorry Australian cricket, I’m going to be a hire gun for my Indian franchise team in several tournaments’ then you can’t interrogate him about that, that’s his prerogative and he has everything to get the profile and get that market value,” Gilchrist said.


“It’s the new younger player coming in and starting to make noises where it’s going to be really challenging,” he added.

Gilchrist, who has represented Australia in 96 tests, 287 ODIs and 13 T20Is, previously played for IPL franchises such as the now-defunct Deccan Charges and Kings XI Punjab, now renamed Punjab Kings. He had led the Deccan Charges to their first IPL title in 2009.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment