Former Chief Selector Feels This Trio Should Have Made India’s T20 World Cup Squad

India announced their 15-man roster for the upcoming T20 World Cup in Australia on Monday. The squad was made up of almost a similar team seen in 2022 Asian Cup, as well as Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel, who were previously injured. Batters like KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant, who left no impression in the Asian Cup, are also included in the roster. Since the announcement of the roster, fans and experts have expressed their views on the players. Former India captain and main selector Dilip Vengsarkar stated that Team India should have continued with Mohammed Shami and Umran Malik and lead-off hitter Shubman Gill in the squad.

“I would have chosen Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik and Shubman Gill for the T20 World Cup. I would have given them a long run in T20Is because they all had a brilliant IPL season,” Vengsarkar told Indian Express.

“I can’t really say who hits what number. It’s up to the think tank, the coach, the captain and the vice-captain. But I have a feeling that Suryakumar Yadav, who hits at 4, can hit at 5 as Well. He can be a great finisher,” he said.

“T20 is not like ODIs and test cricket where you need certain batters in certain positions. In this format anyone can bat anywhere. You don’t have time to settle down. You have to go after the bowlers from ball one,” he added.

Shami has not played a single T20I match since the 2021 T20 World Cup. But he had a brilliant performance in IPL 2022, scalping 20 wickets in 16 matches, averaging 24.40.

Meanwhile, Umran impressed everyone with his speed during the 2022 Indian Premier League, regularly clocking over 150km/h for Sunrisers Hyderabad, scalping 22 wickets in 14 matches. As a result, the Jammu and Kashmir pacer had made its debut for India during the T20I series against Ireland.

He gave up 98 runs in the two games he played against Ireland and England, taking just two wickets.

As a result, he was kicked out of the team for the T20I series against the West Indies, as well as for the Asian Cup.


India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby players – Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment