Focussed on ‘process’: West Zone captain Ajinkya Rahane starts comeback fight with Duleep Trophy | Cricket News

CHENNAI: It won’t be an easy fight to recoup what he’s lost, but Ajinkya Rahane won’t stray from his ‘process-driven’ ways as he prepares to lead a star-studded team West area against minnows North East in opening Duleep Trophy game from Thursday.
India’s domestic cricket season begins with the revival of the Duleep Trophy, back in its zonal format as two quarter-final matches kick off the proceedings.
There couldn’t have been a greater disconnect between the two teams as West boasts of a batting formation with names like skipper Rahane, safety Prithvi Shaw, talented Yashashvi JaiswalKKR captain Shreyas Iyer and Rahul Tripathi, who as recently as the Zimbabwe tour was with the Indian team.
But the focus will be on Rahane, who will certainly make one last attempt to return to the test team after being dropped earlier this year after two years of fruitless racing.
“See, I believe in going through my processes. Right now I’m focused on the Duleep Trophy and doing well for the West Zone team and we’ll see what happens in the future,” Rahane said on the eve of the game.
For him, it’s about taking each game as it comes.
“Playing one game at a time… Coming back from injury, the focus is on what lies ahead rather than the future. I’m looking forward to doing well,” he said in response. to a question if he saw this as the first opportunity. to work for the return.
He said it was good that the Duleep Trophy returned to the zonal format and said it provided an opportunity for national players.
“When I played (Duleep Trophy) the last time in 2009-2010, it was in zonal format. When you play in zonal (format), a lot of players have an opportunity. importance to national cricket, Ranji and Duleep. It’s great that all areas are participating and that’s a good sign,” Rahane added.
With the skipper, Shaw and Jaiswal can rack up big scores and bowlers in the North East would have a hard time stopping them.
National prop Jaydev Unadkat is part of a strong bowling attack that also includes Baroda point guard Atit Seth and Saurashtra’s Chirag Jani.
The powerful West Zone team is expected to carry too many guns for their opponents, which consist of players from the Northeast region and Plate teams.
Schedule of the Duleep Trophy:
QF: West Zone against North East Zone (in Chennai), East Zone against North Zone (in Pondicherry).
Teams (from):
West sector: Ajinkya Rahane (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Tamore (wk), Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Rahul Tripathi, Satyajeet Bachhav, Het Patel, Chintan Gaja, Jaydev Unadkat, Chirag Jani, Atit Sheth.
North East Zone: Al Bashid Muhammed, Ankur Malik, Techi Doria, Rongsen Jonathan, Khrievitso Kense, Kishan Lyngdoh, L Kishan Singha, Bishworjit Konthoujam, G Lalbiakvela, Techi Neri, Dippu Sangma, Rex Rajkumar, Ashish Thapa, Hokaito Zhimomi (captain), Bobby Zothansanga.
North, East zones in a battle of equals
In Pondicherry, the East will face the North in what appears to be an even contest on paper. The experienced Manoj Tiwary leads the Eastern men with a mix of experience and youth to call upon.
Tiwari, a veteran of many battles, will look to lead in the tournament returning to the national stage after a three-year hiatus.
Although the team will miss the services of top hitter Abhimanyu Easwaran, who is on the Indian “A” team against New Zealand, they have enough firepower to hit a big total and have an offense of varied bowling.
North, on the other hand, led by Mandeep Singh, includes Yash Dhull, who captained the Indian team that won the Under-19 World Cup earlier this year. Dhull’s performances will be watched closely after a brilliant start to his top-class career.
The squad includes several experienced names with Navdeep Saini and Siddharth Kaul likely to lead the bowling attack.
East sector: Manoj Tiwary (captain), Virat Singh (vice-captain), Nazim Siddique, Sudip Kumar Gharami, Shantanu Mishra, Anustup Majumdar, Riyan Parag, Kumar Kushagra, Abishek Porel (wk), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ishan Porel, Akash Deep , Mukhtar Hussain, Mani Shankar Murasingh.
North area: Yash Dhull, Dhruv Shorey, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh (Captain), Himanshu Rana, Akash Vashisht, Anmol Malhotra, Mayank Dagar, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Siddharth Kaul, Jagjit Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Qamran Iqbal, Vikas Mishra.

Leave a Comment