Fiery Mohammed Siraj Dismisses Two West Indies Batters In Three Balls During Third ODI. Watch

Top bowling spells from spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and pacers Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur helped India beat the West Indies by 119 runs in the rain-stricken third and final ODI of the series here at Queen’s Park Oval on Thursday. India completed a 3-0 clean sweep over the hosts. India can go home with a lot of positives after this game, as their batting was great, led from the front by openers Shikhar Dhawan (58) and Shubman Gill (98*). With a goal of 257 in 35 overs after the match was hit by rain, Windies batters never looked like they were in the game as Indian bowlers feasted on them. The hosts fell prey to a world-class bowling attack with their careless selection of shots. Chahal (4/17), Siraj (2/14) and Thakur (2/17) were extremely careful with the ball and delivered blows to their opponent in time.

West Indies chased 257 and got off to a nightmarish start, with opener Kyle Mayers and Shamarh Brooks losing to pacer Mohammed Siraj in the second.

Watch: Siraj scalps two WI batters in one over

Hereafter, opener Shai Hope and Brandon King resumed the pursuit of the hosts. They both continued to run briskly between the wickets. King was the aggressor during the partnership. Hope-King added 47 runs to their score before the first was hit by wicketkeeper batter Sanju Samson for 22 from 33 balls on a pitch by spinner Yuzvendra Chahal.

At the end of 10 overs, the West Indies were 48/3, with King (24*) and Pooran (1*).

Captain Nicholas Pooran was next. The 12th over was thrown by pacemaker Prasidh Krishna and it turned out to be expensive, with Pooran-King breaking four boundaries together.

It was spinner Axar Patel who gave India their fourth wicket and removed King, who looked menacing. He had scored 42 from 37 balls before being locked up for the wicket by the bowler.

Keacy Carty was next in line. Pooran’s play got more attacking, crushing Deepak Hooda for a four and a six and also Axar for a four. The duo took the hosts to the 100 run after 18 overs, with Pooran being the aggressor.

Shardul Thakur broke the 29-run tie between the duo and bowled out Carty for just five runs off 17 balls. By this point, half of the Windies lineup was back in the cabin at 1003.

Jason Holder was the next batter to arrive on the crease. The all-rounder made his return to whiteball cricket after a while and was tasked with building a solid stance with his skipper. Prasidh finally got his first wicket of the day, knocking off the dangerous man Pooran for 42 from 32 balls after being caught half way by Dhawan.

Thakur gave another shock to the hosts, sending Akael Hosein back for just one run after skipper Dhawan made another great catch. There wasn’t much battle left for the Windies except Holder, who had to put down something great to lead his team to a consolation victory.

It continued to go downhill for Windies, with Paul being sent off for a duck by Chahal after being caught at one point by Thakur while trying to sweep. At this point, Holder was almost out of partners, now joined by Hayden Walsh. Walsh was the ninth wicket down at a score of 137 after being caught in missteps by Dhawan.

Jayden Seales was the last player to be fired and was sent back to the pavilion by Chahal. Windies were eliminated for 137. They had lost the game by 119 runs and India had a 3-0 clean sweep in the series.

Chahal finished as the lead bowler for India with 4/17. Siraj and Thakur also took two wickets. Krishna and Axar were given one scalp each.

Previously, a 113-run tie between Shubman Gill and Shikhar Dhawan propelled India to 225/3 in 36 overs in the rain-stricken third and final ODI against the West Indies here at Queens Park Oval on Wednesday.

Under the Duckworth-Lewis method, the West Indies were set a target of 257 runs in 35 overs. The innings are interrupted by rain. But despite this disruption, India managed to get a solid total on the board. Dhawan (58) and Gill (98*) continued their good batting form and Windies bowlers couldn’t do much. Shreyas Iyer also contributed a 44 fine.

India chose to bat first and was cautious during the first ten overs, mostly rotating the shot and the occasional big shot. This cautious approach paid off as openers Shikhar Dhawan and Shubman Gill were able to make it through the mandatory powerplay score of 45/0, with the duo going unbeaten at 22 each.

After reaching their 50-run tie in 67 balls, the duo accelerated their run-making. Skipper Dhawan spent his 37th fifty in ODIs. Dhawan-Gill made their 100-run tie in 118 balls.

Gill also looked very classy with the bat on the other side and brought out his second ODI fifty, continuing his good run in the series.

The 113-run tie between the duo was broken in 23rd over. It was spinner Hayden Walsh who gave Windies a breakthrough by sacking Dhawan for 58 from 74 balls, with skipper Nicholas Pooran taking the catch in the middle of the wicket. Shreyas Iyer was next on the fold. Rain interrupted the game at this point, with India at 115/1 in 24 overs, with Gill (51*) and Iyer (2*).

The match will resume as a 40-over-a-side match. After this, Gill-Iyer started showing more offensive intent with the willow, pushing boundaries and sixes. The very first over after rain went for 18 runs. The duo raced to their 50-run partnership in just 30 balls. West Indian bowlers were shocked by the sudden change in gears and it was reflected in some sloppy fielding by them.

The duo kept the scoreboard moving, adding 86 runs before Shreyas Iyer was fired for a solid 44 from 34 balls by spinner Akeal Hosein after being caught by Keemo Paul at long-on.

Suryakumar Yadav was the next man on the line for India. However, his poor run of scores continued when he was sacked by Walsh after being caught by Shamarh Brooks on just eight points.

Sanju Samson, the wicketkeeper batter was next on the crease. Gill-Samson went on for a while before rain interrupted play again.


India’s innings ended at 225/3 in 36 overs due to rain, with Gill (98*) and Samson (6*) unbeaten.

Short Scores: India: 225/3 in 36 overs (Shubman Gill 98, Shikhar Dhawan 58, Hayden Walsh 2/57) win against West Indies: 137 in 26 overs (Brandon King 42, Nicholas Pooran 42, Yuzvendra Chahal 4/17 ) with 119 runs.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment