“Equated With MS Dhoni…”: Bangladesh T20 Coach On Ex-Captain Who Got Dropped From T20 World Cup Squad

After their departure from the Asian Cup group stage, Bangladesh cricket team management did a shake-up in naming their team for the T20 World Cup. It put down former captain Mahmudullah Riyad and recalled batsman Najmul Hossain for next month’s roster tournament in Australia. The Asia Cup campaign highlighted the team’s 20-over misery, with Bangladesh being knocked out in the group stage after losing to Afghanistan and eventual winners Sri Lanka.

Mahmudullah’s participation was under a cloud after a lackluster 151 runs over his eight competitive appearances in 2022.

Former Indian cricketer Sridharan Sriram, appointed as the team’s T20 adviser last month, said it was time for the team to think about the 36-year-old’s future.

“It’s never an easy conversation – he’s the most capped T20 player in Bangladesh,” Sriram told ESPNcricinfo. “I have the utmost respect for him. I have to be the bad guy to have the conversation. I think it (the conversation) went well.”

“I think our cricket team should have a succession plan. I have always equated Mahmudullah with MS Dhoni with the role he plays for the team. He batted at number 6 just like Dhoni has done for India. He finished matches Dhoni can’t go on forever, right?

“You have to have a succession plan for who (the next one). I think this was the right time to come up with someone who can fill in Mahmudullah’s big shoes. You need someone. Unless we start playing players in that role, we will don’t find them.”

Najmul returns after being dropped from the Asian Cup campaign, while Liton Das, Nurul Hasan and Yasir Ali have recovered from injury. Bangladesh is also without the experienced Mushfiqur Rahim, who retired earlier this month. The T20 World Cup kicks off on October 16 in Australia and Bangladesh will appear in Group 2 alongside India, Pakistan, South Africa and two qualifiers in the Super 12 stage.


Bangladesh Selection: Shakib Al Hasan (Captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Hasan Mahmud, Nasumsa Ahmedin, Naj

With AFP inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment