England vs India: Harmanpreet Kaur And Co. Aim For Rare Series Win In England

A confident Indian team will back itself to seal its first series win in England since 1999 with another win over the hosts in the second women’s ODI in Canterbury on Wednesday. After endured a disastrous 1-2 defeat in the T20I series, the Harmanpreet Kaur-led Indian team raised its standards in all divisions of the game to bounce back in three days and beat England by seven wickets in the series. opener at Hoeve on Sunday. England are missing some of their senior players but India looked a much better team in the first game and they would like to capitalize on the momentum.

In 1999, the Indian team had won the ODI series 2-1 with Anjum Chopra hitting a hundred and a half centuries.

It is also a farewell series for the great Jhulan Goswami as India will not have an over-50 until June 2023.

The 39-year-old world record holder for most wickets, who played her first game since March, showed little sign of rusting and was the most frugal of the bunch, returning with numbers 10-2-20-1.

Indian vice-captain Smriti Mandhana led the batting show with a superb 99-ball 91, while wicketkeeper batter Yastika Bhatia also hit a fifty, before skipper Harmanpreet ended the clinical chase with an unbeaten 74.

The captain expects the middle class to rise and hopes opener Shafali Verma does well as she hasn’t scored for half a century in more than 10 innings.

England on the other hand will hope their batters put in a big total as they will rely heavily on Sophia Dunkley in form, who had a successful T20I series.

Dunkley and Alice Capsey looked dangerous again in the middle before a one-handed flyout by Harmanpreet broke the partnership and caused a collapse.

If India manages to win the second match it will be a huge confidence boost for a team trying to gain a foothold in 50-over cricket.


india: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbineni Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Taniyaa Bhatia and Jemima Rodrigues.

England: Amy Jones (c and wk), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Alice Davidson-Richards, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Eclestone, Freya Kemp, Issy Wong and Danni Wyatt.


The match starts at 3:30 PM IST.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and was generated automatically from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Comment