Duleep Trophy: West Zone crush South by 294 runs to win title | Cricket News

COIMBATORE: the West Zone beaten South Zone by 294 races to win the 2022 Duleep Trophy here on Sunday, completing formalities before lunch on the fifth and final day of play.
Set an unlikely target of 529 carries for an outright win, the South Zone was knocked out for 234 in 71.2 overs, with the left arm Shams Mulani (4 for 51) picking up three of four wickets to fall on the final day.
Resuming at 154 for six, South hitters Ravi Teja and R Sai Kishore defied the attack from the West for nearly two hours. Most of the experienced south zone hitters failed and fell to the duo of Atit Sheth and Jaydev Unadkat on the fourth night, leaving the team in dire straits.

Teja (53) batted with determination and was well supported by lanky Sai Kishore, who held the bowlers at bay for 82 deliveries for his seven.
The duo added 57 runs in 157 deliveries, handling Western bowlers with caution. While Teja got three bounds and hit a six, Kishore was content to defend and spend time in the middle.
Average pace Chintan Gaja broke through with the score at 203 when he had Kishore caught by Priyank Panchal.
Karnataka off-spinner K Gowtham who joined Teja made sure the bowlers in the West were made to work hard for more success. They added 23 points and threatened to extend the game after the lunch break.
Mulani trapped Ravi Teja’s leg before the wicket after scoring half a century.
Basil Thampi (0) was next to go, caught by Sarfaraz Khan off Mulani before Tanouche Kotian had Gowtham (17) to end South’s resistance.
West Zone had amassed 585 runs in four before declaring themselves in their second set after conceding a 57-run first-set lead to their opponents.
The prolific goalscorer Sarfaraz Khan recorded a beautiful century without defeat (127 on 178 balls) while Yashasvi Jaiswal shot a monumental 265 in the second set to help set up the game for the West Zone led by Ajinkya Rahane.
Kerala fly-half Rohan Kunnummal fought a lonely battle, scoring 93, in South’s second set.
Meanwhile, West captain Rahane decided to ask Jaiswal off the pitch after opposition batsman Teja complained about sledding which led to a couple of warnings.
“The way everyone contributed was magnificent. Just looking to play one game at a time, not thinking too much about the future. Excited about the season ahead, first full season after Covid, looking forward to playing for Mumbai “, said winning captain Rahane.
The Duleep Trophy returned to the zonal format this season after experimenting with three teams for a few years.
“I think zonal cricket is very important for players who have done well for their states – Ranji Trophy, Irani Trophy and Duleep Trophy are very important in selecting test cricketers for India at the future,” added Rahane.
Short scores: West Zone 270 and 585/4 declared in 128 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 265, Shreyas Iyer 71, Sarfaraz Khan 127; R Sai Kishore 2/157, K Gowtham 2/235) beat South Zone 327 and 234 in 71.2 overs (Rohan Kunnummal 93; Ravi Teja 53, Shams Mulani 4/51, Jaydev Unadkat 2/28, Atit Sheth 2 /29)

Leave a Comment