Duleep Trophy: Ricky Bhui slams ton, South Zone pile up 630 | Cricket News

SALEM (TN): Ricky Bhui made an undefeated 103 while Baba Aparajith hit half a century as South area posted a massive first innings total of 630 for eight before declaring the second day of their Duleep Trophy semi-final against North Zone here on Friday.
In response, North hit 24 for no loss at stumps with the talented Yash Dhull on 8 (18 balls, 1 four) and Manan Vohra at bat on 11 (12 balls, 1 fours), still 606 runs adrift of South’s huge score in the first inning.
In Coimbatore, small flyhalf Prithvi Shaw was in fine form, hammering an unbeaten 104 from 96 balls (11 fours, 3 sixes) as the West End finished at 130 for three in the second set to extend their lead against the Central End at 259 dots.
Picking up 324 for two overnight, the South batters continued to rack up the runs. Captain Hanuma Vihari, who was at bat on 107 overnight, extended his partnership with Indrajith (65, 104 balls, 4 fours) to 105 runs before being trapped LBW by left arm spinner Mayank Dagar (3 for 184).
Indrajith and Manish Pandey (35) added 57 runs for the fourth wicket before the first became Dagar’s second scalp.
Pandey fell to Dagar at 440 but North’s ordeal wasn’t over as Bhui went on the attack, and with support from K Gowtham (48, 72 balls, 4 fours, 2 sixes) and T Ravi Teja (42, 66 balls, 4 fours, 1 six), inflated the South Zone total.
From 440 for five, Bhui and the others added 190 runs before skipper Vihari declared the innings.
On day one, fly-half Rohan S Kunnummal smashed a ton on the Duleep Trophy debut to give South Zone control.
Short scores: South Zone 630 for 8 declared in 172.overs (Rohan Kunnumal 143, Hanuma Vihari 134, Ricky Bhui 103 not out, B Indrajith 65, Mayank Agarwal 49, K Gowtham 48, Mayank Dagar 3 for 184) against North Zone 24 for no loss in 5 overs. (Throw: South).
West fights back to regroup Central for 128 after making 257
In the other semi, the west zone bowlers came out on top and fired the center zone for 128 in the first innings, a 129-point lead after being limited to 257.
Forward Shaw then made sure West took control of the proceedings by coming on with a searing jab. His spectacular assault on opposing bowlers meant West had taken the initiative, reaching 130 for three in the end.
After a ton in the quarter-finals against a weak team from the North East, Shaw showed off his batting skills by tearing up the attack from the central zone. There was hardly any stopping Shaw as he seemed to hit the boundaries at will to take the game by the scruff of the neck.
Even as Shaw prepared to crush the bowlers around the park, West lost three wickets, including that of Yashasvi Jaiswal and captain Ajinkya Rahane.
Before the Shaw show, the experienced Jaydev Unadkat (3 for 24) did the first damage while spinning Tanouche Kotian picked up three wickets, including that of Karan Sharma, to stifle the central formation.
Picking up on the second day overnight 252 for nine, West was only able to add five more points to the score.
Rahul Tripathi fell to point guard Aniket Choudhary (2 for 48) for 67 to signal the end of the West’s innings. Left arm spinner Kumar Kartikeya Singh was the most successful bowler, finishing with 5 for 66.
Outside of Tripathi’s half-century, flyhalf Prithvi Shaw made 60 (78 balls, 10 fours) and Shams Mulani (41).
The midcourt innings were shaken up early when Unadkat got Yash Dubey LBW for 4. After a 28-point partnership, Himanshu Mantri fell for 11 against Unadkat.
Chintan Gaja (1 of 25) and Atit Sheth (2 of 27) also picked up wickets at regular intervals as Central slipped to 94 for seven.
Venkatesh Iyer, who played for India in the ODIs and T20s, hit two fours and a six in his brief spell before falling to Kotian for 14.
Karan Sharma (34, 64 balls, 2 fours, 2 sixes) was the last man to fall, caught by Tripathi off Kotian.
Brief notes: West Zone 259 all in 85.4 overs (Rahul Tripathi 67, Prithvi Shaw 60, Shams Mulani 41, Kumar Kartikeya Singh 5 for 66) and 430 for 3 in 29 overs (Prithvi Shaw 104 batting) vs Central Zone 128 all out in 40.1 overs (Karan Sharma 34, Tanush Kotian 3 for 17, Jaydev Unadkat 3 for 24) (Toss: Central).

Leave a Comment