Cricket @ CWG – Uninteresting history, long-delayed return and renaissance | Commonwealth Games 2022 News

NEW DELHI: Often called a religion in India and a multi-billion dollar revenue generating industry in the country, the game of cricket is still finding its way to true global recognition.
With only a handful of cricket powerhouses, the sport still has miles to go to be on par with football, tennis and a few other truly global sports.
Cricket at global multi-sport events has also been a very rare sight, but this time, stepping up its bid to increase its reach and popularity with global audiences, cricket will be showcased at the upcoming Commonwealth Games.
After a wait of almost two and a half decades, cricket is ready to return to the Games with a women’s T20 competition.

The International Cricket Council (ICC), the trustee of the lucrative sport, has been pushing for the sport to be included in the Los Angeles Olympics in 2028 and the Birmingham Games are seen as the perfect launch pad for reintroduction of the game to global audiences. .
As the women’s competition is set to get its first-ever glimpse of the multi-sport event, here gives you everything you need to know about cricket @ CTM:
Over the past three decades, cricket has experienced an astronomical rise. A glut of cash, cricketers enjoying demigod status and berserk fans for their cricketing idols on and off the pitch have been the norm.
But this craze was limited to a chosen territory. With the exception of a handful of nations, cricket is still in its infancy around the world and one of the reasons for this is its limited reach in the past. A failure to be part of multi-sport events has also prevented cricket from reaching its true potential.
India’s beloved sport has been part of the Olympics only once, in 1900, with only Britain and France. At the Commonwealth Games too, he only had one race.

During the Kuala Lumpur Games in 1998, the men’s tournament was organized with the participation of 16 nations, including India. The 50+ format tournament was given List A status and the South African team won gold, beating Australia (silver medalists) by 4 wickets in the final. New Zealand finished with bronze in the competition. India was not selected in the semi-finals.
Now, after 24 years, cricket has finally found its way back to the Commonwealth Games and its reintroduction to the multi-sport event has taken place in its country of birth.
With men’s cricket having a fully packed international roster and leagues, cricket’s return to the Games will be with a women’s T20 competition and a resounding success is widely expected.
Women’s cricket will make its CWG debut this time and it will be in the game’s most lucrative and eye-catching format – the T20s.
8 teams will take part in the competition with a total of 16 matches to play – all at Edgbaston in Birmingham. The meeting between India and Australia will kick off the proceedings on July 29, while the high-octane clash between India and Pakistan will set the Games on fire on July 31.

Team India
The Indian team GTC 2022 is ordered by Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana as assistant. In their last T20I series, India beat Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka 2-1 in a 3 game series.
India’s full squad for CWG 2022:
Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali VermaS Meghana, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.
Groups and matches
The teams were split into 2 groups with Australia, Barbados, India and Pakistan forming Group A.
England, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka make up Group B.
The top 2 teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals, with the two knockout matches taking place on August 6. The teams finishing at the top of their group will face the runners-up in the opposite group in the semi-finals. final.
The final will take place on August 7 with the match for the bronze medal between the two losing teams of the semi-finals.
Group A matches
July 29 – Australia vs India
July 29 – Pakistan vs Barbados
July 31 – India vs Pakistan
July 31 – Barbados vs Australia
August 3 – Australia vs Pakistan
August 3 – India vs Barbados
Group B matches
July 30 – New Zealand – South Africa
July 30 – England v Sri Lanka
August 2 – England v South Africa
August 2 – Sri Lanka vs New Zealand
August 4 – South Africa vs Sri Lanka
August 4 – England v New Zealand
August 6 – 1st semi-final
August 6 – 2nd semi-final
August 7 – Bronze Medal Game
August 7 – Final – Gold Medal Game
The ‘West Indies’ are made up of a group of island nations and in international cricket they come together to form a West Indies ‘team’. But at the Commonwealth Games, these nations compete separately.
A Caribbean squad for the Games this time was to be decided via the CWI T20 Blaze 2021 tournament. But due to COVID-19, this tournament was postponed and Barbados secured a spot at the Games by winning the previous edition of the CWI T20 Blaze.
Meanwhile, England hosted automatic qualifying while the next top five teams in the ICC Women’s T20I Rankings – Australia, India, New Zealand, South Africa and the Pakistan also got direct entry.
The Sri Lankan women clinched the last spot by winning the CWG qualifier held in Malaysia, beating Bangladesh by 22 points in the final. Lankan captain Chamari Athapaththu was named player of the series, for being the top scorer with 221 points.

Leave a Comment