2nd ODI: India to aim for rare series win in England | Cricket News

CANTERBURY: A confident Indian side will back each other to seal their first series win in England since 1999 with another victory over the hosts in the second women’s ODI here on Wednesday.
After suffering a terrible 1-2 loss in the T20I series, the Harmanpreet Kaur-led Indian side raised their standards in all departments of the game to bounce back in three days and beat England by seven wickets in the opener. of the series at Vive le dimanche.
England are missing some of their senior players but India looked a much better side in the opener and they would be looking to build on the momentum.
In 1999, the Indian team had won the ODI series 2-1 with Anjum Chopra hitting one hundred and a half centuries.
It is also a farewell series for the great Jhulan Goswami as India does not have an assignment over 50 until June 2023.
Playing her first game since March, the 39-year-old world record holder for most wickets showed little sign of rust and was the most economical of the lot, returning with the numbers 10-2-20-1.
India vice-captain Smriti Mandhana led the show at bat with a sublime 99-ball 91, while wicket-keeper batter Yastika Bhatia also hit a fifty, before skipper Harmanpreet finished the clinical pursuit with a 74 unbeaten.
The captain will be expecting the middle order to step up and hopes flyhalf Shafali Verma will do well as she hasn’t scored a half century in over 10 innings now.
England, meanwhile, will be hoping their batters will hit a big tally as they rely heavily on in-form Sophia Dunkley, who has had a successful T20I run.
Dunkley and Alice Capsey looked dangerous in the middle again before a one-handed grab by Harmanpreet broke the partnership and triggered a meltdown.
If India manage to win the second game, it will be a huge confidence booster for a team trying to find their feet in cricket over 50.
Teams (from):
India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbineni Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Dayalan Hemalatha, Simran Dil Bahadur, Jhulan Goswami, Taniyaa Bhatia and Jemimah Rodrigues.
England: Amy Jones (c and wk), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Maia Bouchier, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Alice Davidson-Richards, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Eclestone, Freya Kemp, Issy Wong and Danni Wyatt .
The match starts at 3:30 PM IST.

Leave a Comment